My girlies

Have to take a Dad moment here to brag on my daughters. They are the smartest, cutest, best little girls in the whole world. No, seriously. You think your kids are hot stuff? Forget about it.

Bean is almost 4, and talks non-stop. From the moment she wakes up til the moment she goes to sleep she’s talking. It’s pretty amazing. I don’t know how she does it. I want to find some way to actually count the number of words she says during a normal day. I imagine it’s a lot. And the things she says! You never know when some random thing you said three weeks ago without thinking about it will pop out, or something from some kids TV show or another. When she first started talking, and repeating the last three words you said, I realized I had to clean up my act quite a bit.

Banana just turned 1. At first we were worried she’d be overshadowed by big sister (see notes above) but she’s rising to the challenge. Her latest trick, as of this morning, is when you say “big bear hug”, she’ll actually come give you the biggest hug a one-year-old can give. I totally melted.

As you might guess, I’m pretty stuck on these little boogers. They’re just the coolest little people. Yes they can be darn frustrating. They both insist on having their own way in that “I reject your reality and substitute my own” kind of way. But I wouldn’t trade them away for anything. I wonder what kind of people they’ll turn out to be. I wince at the thought of the mistakes and heartbreaks that will be in their path. I want to know how the story ends before I get there, mostly because I just want to know that they’ll turn out okay, that I haven’t let them down as a father. But I guess I’ll have to wait for that episode.

Stay tuned,

“Rocky”

Leave a Reply

